Academics » Testing and Assessments

Testing and Assessments


The teachers and faculty at LLCA are committed to providing an enriched and challenging curriculum in every grade level and every subject to every student at LLCA.  LLCA’s curriculum adheres to the North Carolina Standard Course of Study (NCSCOS). Although our school is a charter school, we have the same requirements as all other North Carolina public schools in meeting state standards through End-of-Grade testing in grades 3-8, End-of-Course Testing in grades 9-12, and NCFE’s in grades 9-12. We adhere to NC requirements for PreACT testing for students in 10th grade, and the ACT for students in 11th grade. LLCA also provides benchmark testing using the NC Star 360  during specific times of the school year. Data from benchmark testing and state standardized testing is used to guide student’s academic growth and success.

Parents Right-to-Know Letter

Assessment Briefs

NC Ready Beginning of Grade 3 English Language Arts/Reading Test

NC Ready EOG Assessments


Like students at other public schools, students at Lake Lure Classical Academy take the State of North Carolina’s End of Grade and End of Course tests.

Historical State Assessment Results

Testing Information


North Carolina End-of-Grade tests are administered in reading and math to students in the 3rd through 8th grade, and in science to students in the 5th and 8th grade. For additional information about each assessment, click one of the links below.



North Carolina End-of-Course tests are administered as the final exams for Biology, English II, NC Math I, and NC Math III courses in grades 9-12. For additional information about each assessment, click one of the links below.


Students in high school are provided several opportunities to demonstrate college and career readiness as they prepare to exit high school.

ACT Website

The PreACT

Administered to all 10th grade students in North Carolina, the PreACT provides early practice for the ACT. Since the PreACT is so closely aligned to the ACT, students receive scores that predict future performance on the ACT.


North Carolina administers the ACT to all 11th graders during the statewide administration. Students and schools receive results on the 4 subtests that make up the Composite Score (English, Math, Reading, and Science) and the Writing subtest.


The State Board of Education defines “mastery” as a student’s command of course material at a level that demonstrates a deep understanding of the content standards and the ability to apply his or her knowledge of the material.

“Credit by demonstrated mastery” is the process by which school districts shall, based upon a body-of-evidence, award a student credit in a particular course without requiring the student to complete classroom instruction for a certain amount of seat time.